Easiest Japanese Chicken

20120815-002914.jpg

I’m sorry to say that I’m going to go against the stated purpose of this blog in my very first post, because although this meal is very quick and easy, it’s not really very baby friendly, as it’s pretty salty. After Joe turned 1 (the very moment the clock struck midnight on his birthday, because that’s when his entire digestive system changed of course) I became a bit more relaxed about salt quantities and even *gasp* a little bit of sugar now and then. I did try making him something using soy sauce – I think it was sea bass – but he wasn’t a big fan, so I’m not going to give him this meal just yet.

This is a recipe that I found on a facebook group, and everyone raved about it. I ignored it for a while because I often find that things other people rave about on facebook groups are not things I love (like in the facebook book group I’m in… I pretty much hate all the books everyone recommends. I should probably leave that group), but then I actually read the recipe and thought: it’s basically chicken in soy sauce, what’s not to like? So I made it, and lo, it was good!

One of the best things about this recipe is that you just chuck all the stuff into a pot, and leave it for about 30 to 40 mins. This means you have 30 to 40 mins to do some work, maybe an exercise DVD, or maybe just play a few rounds of Ruzzle.

Lightly adapted from Food.com

  • Chicken for 4 – best with dark meat, such as drumsticks or thighs (with bone) but works with chicken breast too
  • 1 cup water
  • ½ cup balsamic vinegar
  • ½ cup soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1 small red pepper, slit open, seeds removed, minced

Apologies for the American cup measurements – I actually have a set of American cups that I use for this, but if you don’t, then 1 cup is about 240ml.

1. Place all the ingredients in a saucepan over a high heat.

2. Bring to the boil, then reduce to a simmer for about 20 minutes. If using chicken breasts, then remove when they are cooked – approx 15 minutes, and replace at the end.

3. Remove any scum that rises to the surface.

4. Increase the heat, turning the drumsticks frequently in the liquid, and cook until the liquid has reduced to a sticky glaze. If using chicken breasts, put back in when the liquid gets to this point and make sure they are heated through.

5. Arrange the chicken on a plate and spoon the glaze over.

NOTE It’s a glaze rather than a sauce, so there’s not a whole lot of it.

We had this with steamed basmati rice and stir fried tenderstem broccoli with toasted sesame seeds. Yum. I did a pilates DVD and played 4 games of Ruzzle loads of work while it cooked.

*Approximate nutritional values*

Chicken alone

Calories: 243 kcal
Carbs: 20g
Fat: 4g
Protein: 28g
Sugar: 14g
Sodium: 3781mg

Chicken with rice and broccoli

Calories: 588 kcal
Carbs: 87g
Fat: 10g
Protein: 36g
Sugar: 15g
Sodium: 3781g

3 thoughts on “Easiest Japanese Chicken

Leave a Reply

